Reflection – December

I have made a start on the proposal and parallel language brief however much of my time has been occupied with completing my ceramic final pieces from the previous project, in readiness for display in the exhibition first week of January. They are almost finished and I am currently waiting for the final firing to finish, which should be tomorrow. Once that is done I will need to:

  • Repair damage to the head pot
  • Add transfers to head and hangover pots

I also have a few pieces of evidence to add into my sketchbook from Broad Street project which I will do over the Christmas break.

Although I have been focused on getting the pots finished I have managed to make a start on parallel language.
To begin with we undertook a group task where smaller groups each read, responded to and researched one of the text extracts. This was useful to gain a better understanding and make an informed decision when it came to selecting our text.
I helped to research “Cider with Rosie” which is a novel by Laurie Lee, detailing his childhood experiences of growing up in the countryside in the era of WWI. This piece of text appealed to me as it was very visually descriptive and I could relate to the image of a rural summer time. The excerpt itself describes first hand the experience of a 3-year-old child being set down in the hot sun of the country for the first time. The similes and metaphors used conjure a sense of being afraid of the surroundings, overwhelmed by sensations.
The other three pieces of text that caught my attention were “Under Milkwood” by Dylan Thomas, “The Tyger” by William Blake and, of course, “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley.
“Under Milkwood” interested me as the presentation given on it was really engaging and made me intrigued. After reading it I noticed that it has an almost soothing feel and puts the reader into the story by referring to them directly: “you can hear the dew… only your eyes are unclosed… [and] you alone can hear the invisible starfall.”
The language used conjures an image of softness and safety, peaceful wandering through velvetty darkness.
“The Tyger” is a familiar piece of text however I had never analysed it or researched it before. The presentation given was insightful, explaining that the poem uses metaphors to express Blake’s opposition to and consideration of the industrial revolution; where it will lead mankind, and how it relates to theology. In my mind I picture a tiger skulking through a forest, smog filled skies and reflections of forgeries and fire in it’s eyes.

Ultimately though I chose “Brave New World” to interpret as it struck the clearest chord visually, as well as being themed on issues that interest me.
I have begun researching and sketching out responses to the extract.
The start to this project has been slower than I had hoped as I am dividing my time between completing my pots and progressing with this. My weaknesses in the last submission were research, analysis and comparison, note-taking on feedback, reflection and problem-solving, and not beginning the making process soon enough. I intend bring all research and experimentation completely up to date over the Christmas break so that I am free to begin practical work immediately in the new term. After feedback from Sue I now understand that I need to make my daily targets more specific to keep them achievable by breaking down a task into steps to be completed each day, e.g. day 1) fill out docket for frame, day 2) collect frame & calico, stretch, prime, day 3) paint ground.
I have a canvas frame ready for a painting I have planned.
The mixed media exploration in life drawing yesterday has inspired me to continue trying new combinations related to my project.
We also had a workshop on perspective drawing yesterday which was incredibly useful, especially as I am considering including architecture and geometric shapes as an element of my work.

Leave a Reply

