Parallel Language Proposal

I have chosen to interpret the extract from “A Brave New World” by Alduous Huxley.

The text describes a cold, clinical “fertilizing room.” Full of description that evokes chilly, austere surroundings even in this short extract there are hints of the story yet to come. The blurb for the books reads:

“Far in the future, the World Controllers have created the ideal society. Through clever use of genetic engineering, brainwashing and recreational sex and drugs, all its members are happy consumers. Bernard Marx seems alone harbouring an ill-defined longing to break free. A visit to one of the few remaining Savage Reservations, where the old, imperfect life still continues, may be the cure for his
distress…

Huxley’s ingenious fantasy of the future sheds a blazing light on the present and is considered to be his most enduring masterpiece.”

The book falls into the category of science fiction, more specifically in the ‘dystopia’ category; the opposite of utopia, a vision of a chaotic, anarchic, dysfunctional society. Stories in this category are often also a commentary on politics, social structure, governments and the trajectory of the future.

I plan to read the entirety of the story alongside this project as it is a book I’ve intended to read for a while. However I will be sure to record my initial response to the text in isolation as I feel it is important to preserve the vision that I have now before potentially altering this impression with further reading. I will do this by making notes, a mind map, collecting visual research and making sketches.
This piece of text produced the most visual response in my mind. I intend to make images that reflect the chilly, industrial, uneasy, bare atmosphere conjured; to make use of sharp lines and geometric shapes, negative space and contrasting neutral tones.

I aim to work predominantly in painting as this is a medium I would like to explore further. However I hope to translate some ideas into textiles and/or ceramics. These choices will become easier once I have a clear vision for what I hope to achieve. Once these decisions are made I will be able to plan my time.

To Do:

  1. Record initial ideas
  2. Research:
    – author, context of novel, related works and artists etc.
    – political, philosophical and social links
  3. Suitable paint, textile & ceramic techniques; necessary materials
  4. Artists whose work relates
  5. Plan time over coming weeks

 

Sources:
http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5129.Brave_New_World

Leave a Reply

