Transfer image experiments

I have always intended to make use of waterslide decals on my ceramic work, inspired by Grayson Perry and others’ use of transfer within their decoration. These will have to be applied after glazing and second firing but I have been preparing the images for them in readiness and plan to test the decal paper in the printer once I have images prepped.

The first experimentation was with marbling. I deliberately used the opposite colours from those I wanted as I was really pleased by the effect achieved when the colours were inverted; the results almost look like photographs of outer space. I hope to use these patterns and textures as transfers on my pots.

The second was my attempts at drawing a black eye as I want a drawing of bruising on my morning after pot. I have experimented with watercolour, charcoal, ink and oil and then tried inverting these, too. Although not my original intention I might use one of the inverted drawings.

Leave a Reply

