Open days & university plans

The UCAS deadline is steadily looming and decisions about courses and university have never been far from my mind.

I had always wanted to study Fine Art however recently I had been considering course in Illustration. However, after discussions with tutors, current illustration students and a professional illustrator (Beach) I have decided that it doesn’t appeal to me. I am aiming for a study programme that allows for freedom and exploration and for me to be self-guided in my work. Despite illustration offering live briefs, software education and specific professional development I prefer the prospect of the opportunity of pursuing my own personal ideas.

I had a meeting with the careers & UCAS advisor, Tim Silcock, who gave me some really great guidance on writing my personal statement (which I hope to finish next week, over the half-term break.) It’s helped me to consider my experience and achievements in a way that can help me to communicate my commitment and potential in Fine Art.

I’ve booked the following open days:

  • Manchester Met School of Art – Sat. 24th Oct.
  • Leeds School of Art – Sat. 7th Nov.
  • Central St. Martins – Tues. 17th Nov. (tbc)
  • UWE – Sat. 21st Nov.
Leave a Reply

