Personal Reflection

Summer Assignment

The summer assignment was split into two sections; visual research and visual metaphor. I was immediately inspired by the visual metaphor project and devoted much of my time and energy to that. As a result I found that I had less motivation to produce observational drawings and I do not feel that these drawings show the best of my ability. Due to feeling rushed to finish this section of work I chose my subject matter in a hurry from still-life scenes and objects around me, mostly at home or in the garden. These tended to be fairly everyday objects and did not hold my attention. Many of my sketches were quick therefore lacking the attention to detail I know I am capable of.

However when I reflect back I have taken some positive developments from the experience. I attempted more detailed botanical drawings than I have ever done before and have since found myself more and more interested in the patterns that emerge in natural forms. I also attempted an architectural detail sketch for the first time and found that I managed to focus for the longest period on this. Previously I had always preferred to use pencil but found myself exploring more and more the potential of fine liner pens which I have really enjoyed using.

I have also realised several points to work on in the future and develop in my practice; firstly that it is important to choose a subject matter that interests you. Figure drawing has usually been my favourite subject matter and I realise that I should have focussed on this more, taking myself into busy public areas to sketch. I also missed the opportunity of sketching friends and family in social situations due to feeling uncomfortable about drawing in this context. I understand now that I need to overcome this in order to progress as an artist. I feel that focusing more on a theme would have helped to motivate me and capture my attention. I would have liked to have included more media experimentation, too, which again would have come more organically from exploring a single theme.

For the visual metaphor side of the project I chose the ‘limestone wall’ image. I liked the idea of the challenge of creating something from a seemingly banal subject. I quickly found that it actually offered a multitude of interpretations and after initial word play and research settled on 6 concepts to base my images around. Although many of my ideas sprang from personal experiences or associations I wanted my images to be universally relatable. ‘Walls’, or barriers, can be interpreted as metaphorical, emotional, physical, cultural or political and my hope was to balance a portrayal of more personal concepts with broader social ideas. Deciding to attempt to portray a different interpretation of wall for each image gave me a lot of freedom for exploration of media and concepts but if I were to do it again I would choose fewer themes, allowing myself the opportunity to explore them more deeply. I found working to the 10x10cm format quite restrictive, particularly when it came to visualization. In future to overcome this I would try working in rough on a larger scale and reducing down. As with the observational drawing I found my confidence using pen and ink grew and feel that these are my most successful images visually.

After reviewing the work of other students, discussing and comparing our work and strengths and weaknesses, I have found that it has helped me to feel more motivated to improve my own skill set. I have observed some strong observational drawing skills amongst my peers which I really admire and I intend to fit a lot more practice into my routine in order to improve. There has also been a lot of interesting mixed media pieces and I have noticed some very strong visual exploration in sketchbooks. The latter is something I have often tended to feel hesitant about, concerned that all work needs to ‘neat’, but this has helped me to relax and move away from this restrictive attitude.

Kite Project

I think that working on our induction project as a group helped the settling in process and made it easier to get to know people. The group process also helped me to remain focused and motivated as I felt a sense of responsibility towards the others and our project. Idea development was also exciting as having different perspectives pushed our concepts further. During the brainstorming stage we also discussed an interesting concept relating to spirituality and release in the context of a kite and this is an idea I would like to explore in the future.

Overall we worked very smoothly and efficiently as a group, playing to each others’ strengths and generally agreeing; if there were opposing ideas we discussed and compromised until everyone was satisfied. I noticed that at times there were tasks that needed delegating and I often found myself taking the lead on this. I do not aim to be a leader in any situation however I am comfortable to take on the role and I think that I did so fairly and hope that my peers feel the same. This task has helped to make me feel more comfortable working in a team.

In terms of practical process I would say I have realised the importance of precise templates, mock-ups and test runs. We were fortunate that our kite is (so far) pretty sturdy and appears to fly well without going through much of the aforementioned process however I now see how important that can be in order to correct errors in the early stages.
Personal reflection

I feel that I have made a positive start to the course, I am comfortable with my peers and in the studio and have settled in well. So far I have kept to deadlines and applied myself well to all tasks set. Forward planning and good time management has helped me to be more productive. I am still building confidence in my independence and initiative, for example when it came to the research into our Broad Street buildings the brief suggested talking to residents and locals to find information about its history and purpose however I did not feel comfortable seeking these opportunities at the time. I hope to push myself to do more of this type of investigation in future.

Summer assignment

Summer assignment

Summer assignment

Summer assignment

Summer assignment

Summer assignment

I feel that I have made a positive start to the course, I am comfortable with my peers and in the studio and have settled in well. So far I have kept to deadlines and applied myself well to all tasks set. Forward planning and good time management has helped me to be more productive. I am still building confidence in my independence and initiative, for example when it came to the research into our Broad Street buildings the brief suggested talking to residents and locals to find information about its history and purpose however I did not feel comfortable seeking these opportunities at the time. I hope to push myself to do more of this type of investigation in future.

Leave a Reply

